Categorized | Government

New York Joins National Popular Vote Compact

Posted on 23 April 2014

Assemblyman Fred W. Thiele Jr. announced last week that Governor Cuomo had signed legislation adding New York to the list of states that have joined the National Popular Vote compact. Under this interstate agreement, member states will award their electoral votes to the presidential candidate who wins the national popular vote.

The legislation means New York State will award its 29 electoral votes to the winner of the national popular vote in all 50 States plus the District of Columbia.

The legislation will only take effect once enough other states have passed similar legislation to make up a majority of the Electoral College’s 538 votes.

Including New York, the compact now has 165 of the necessary 270 electoral votes.

Similar bills have been enacted by 10 state legislatures and the District of Columbia. Other states that have signed on are California, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Washington.


Be Sociable, Share!

This post was written by:

- who has written 3100 posts on The Sag Harbor Express.

Contact the author

Leave a Reply

Comments are the sole responsibility of the person posting them. You agree not to post comments that are off-topic, defamatory, obscene, abusive, threatening or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be banned. Terms of Service