Categorized | Page 1

Tags : ,

Bridgehampton: Three in to Keep High School

Posted on 20 May 2009

Supporters of keeping the Bridgehampton School exactly as it is won a resounding victory tonight with Lillian Tyree-Johnson, Doug DeGroot, and Ron White taking the three available seats. Incumbent board president Jim Walker lost by a mere 13 votes to White.

Joe Conti, Laurie Gordon, and Nathan Ludlow who ran on the premise that the school would be better served if the high school closed, all lost.

The budget, otherwise known as proposition 1 was passed easily with 325 yes votes to only 150 no.  Proposition 2, which asked voters for $125,000 to be given to the Bridgehampton Child Care and Recreational Center also passed with 338 votes yes and 125  voting no.

The school board results were Lillian Tyree-Johnson 300, Doug DeGroot 258, Ron White 240, Jim Walker 227, Joe Conti 176, Nathan Ludlow 170, and Laurie Gordon 169.

The election was largely seen as a referendum for either closing the upper grades and tuitioning the students to other neighboring high schools, or keeping the school open.


Above: Supporters celebrate the election of three school board candidates Tuesday night whose agenda includes keeping the Bridgehampton School upper grades open.


Be Sociable, Share!

This post was written by:

- who has written 3074 posts on The Sag Harbor Express.

Contact the author

2 Responses to “Bridgehampton: Three in to Keep High School”

  1. TMac says:

    That be the why it is and should be

  2. mta says:

    I certainly hope the author of the above post is not a BHS graduate; otherwise, the high school has a long way to go in proper English grammar education.

Leave a Reply

Comments are the sole responsibility of the person posting them. You agree not to post comments that are off-topic, defamatory, obscene, abusive, threatening or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be banned. Terms of Service