Categorized | Page 1

Tags : ,

Skinner, Horn and Bourel Win Oz Race

Posted on 19 July 2009


The 15th annual Oz Trophy race was hosted by Breakwater Yacht Club on July 8th. A critical eligibility requirement was that all yachts have a female helmsman from the warning gun to the finish line.

First place prizes went to Tiffany Skinner (Gossip) in Division 1, Sharon Horn (White Lightning) Division 2 and Andrea Bourel (Plurabelle) Division 3.

The 2009 race was sponsored by Dear Plum, a fashion company specializing in beach/boat bathing suit cover-ups. First place winners in each division received a gift from Dear Plum.

Sailing conditions changed dramatically during the course of the race. At the start, winds were out of the Northwest at 5 knots with an ebbing tide. By the finish, winds had increased to 30 knots out of the Northeast. The change in conditions was not without incident. The Race Committee’s boat, stationed at the finish line, began dragging its anchor as yachts were finishing. When their engine would not start they were rescued by the committee boat at the other end of the line and towed back for re-anchoring.

As with all sanctioned sailing races, a cardinal rule is that yachts must finish with as many crew members as they start with. Loki was forced back to pick up crew Madeleine Kiss after a gybe sent her into the water. Loki did a 720 degree penalty round to pick Madeleine up.

Further confusion forced Purple Haze and Roxanne to withdraw after rounding one race marker to port rather than to starboard.

Summer Series Rescored

The first four races of Breakwater’s Summer Series were re-scored as one yacht changed Divisions and another’s rating was revised. In the June 3rd race, Skoot took honors in Division 1, Wave Equation in Division 2 and Plurabelle in Division 3. In the June 10th race, Gossip placed first in Division 1, White Lightning in Division 2 and Plurabelle in Division 3. On June 17th, Skoot again finished first in Division 1; Osprey finished first in Division 2 and Plurabelle again took first in Division 3. The June 24th race saw Ice-Nine in first place in Division 1, Osprey in Division 2 and Plurabelle in Division 3. The July 1st race was won by Gossip, Division 1, Kingfisher, Division 2 and Loki, Division 3. The Summer Series continues July 15th, 6 p.m. in Major’s Cove.

Be Sociable, Share!

This post was written by:

- who has written 3069 posts on The Sag Harbor Express.

Contact the author

Leave a Reply

Comments are the sole responsibility of the person posting them. You agree not to post comments that are off-topic, defamatory, obscene, abusive, threatening or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be banned. Terms of Service