BYC Announces Sag Harbor Cup; Summer Series Continues

Posted on 05 August 2009

The Notice of Race for the 27th Annual Sag Harbor Cup, to be hosted by Breakwater Yacht Club, is available on the club’s website: The Cup Race will be held on Saturday, August 15. The Race format will be a Pursuit Race whereby yachts start based on their handicap with the faster classes starting later so that all boats reach the finish line at approximately the same time. The first yacht will leave the starting line at 10:05 AM. The course is a circumnavigation of Shelter Island (subject to course shortening due to poor winds or weather).

The regatta mission has remained consistent over time – to support youth sailing and to inspire a love for the waters around Sag Harbor among young people. This year’s proceeds from racing entry fees, a post race party along with a reggae band (Project vibe) and silent auction will benefit the Pierson HS Sailing Team.

BYC’s Summer Race Series continues through Labor Day.  The July 22nd race started with light winds (5 – 8 knots out of the NE) and the beginning of a flooding current.  In Division 1, Gossip (Captains Kenny and Ames) finished first followed by Skoot (Captain Jim Vos) one minute and 45 seconds behind.  Ice-Nine (Captain Tom Stewart) finished in third place 5 minutes and three seconds later.  Buckaroo, Skoot and Two Potato crossed the starting line early and were forced to re-round and start again.

In Division 2, Osprey (Captain George Martin) finished first.  Kingfisher (Captain Scott Gaeckle) took second place and White Lightning (Captain Jim Smyth) finished third two minutes 33 seconds and 17 seconds behind respectively.

In Division 3, Plurabelle (Captain Andrea Bourel) took first place followed by Loki (Captains Webber and Ivans) in second place and Swansway (Commodore DiSunno) in third place.

On July 29th the race started with winds out of the southwest of 10 – 14 and gusting during the race to 20 knots.  The current changed from a flood to an ebb during the race.  In Division 1, Skoot took first place by six seconds followed by Gossip and Buckaroo (Captain Bruce Tait) 2 minutes and 23 seconds later.  In Division 2, Impromptu (Captain Sean Leary) finished first followed by Kingfisher (30 seconds behind) and Wave Equation (Captains Dinsmore and Worthing), 19 seconds later.  Osprey failed to honor one turning mark and withdrew from the race.

In Division 3, Plurabelle finished first followed by Loki and Swansway, one minute 17 seconds and 15 seconds behind respectively.

Be Sociable, Share!

This post was written by:

- who has written 3074 posts on The Sag Harbor Express.

Contact the author

Leave a Reply

Comments are the sole responsibility of the person posting them. You agree not to post comments that are off-topic, defamatory, obscene, abusive, threatening or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be banned. Terms of Service