Categorized | Sports

Tags : ,

BYC Fall Series: Bumpy Starts and Close Finishes

Posted on 03 October 2008

The second race of BYC’s Fall Series began at 6:40 PM on September 17th after a delayed start until winds filled in out of the Southwest at 5 – 7 knots.  The tide was ebbing, changing to a flood current mid race.  Prior to the start, several yachts ran into the Race Committee Boat.  At the start, several yachts were called for barging the starting line and Buckaroo’s spinnaker pole made contact with Bellatrix.  All offending yachts took 360 degree penalty turns prior to crossing the starting line.  In Division I (Spinnaker) White Lightning (Captain Jim Smyth) took first place, crossing the finish line in 35 minutes and 58 seconds (corrected time).  In second place was Wave Equation (Captains Dinsmore and Worthing) four minutes and 43 seconds behind.  Kingfisher (Captain Scott Gaeckle) finished third, two minutes and 15 seconds later.  Osprey ran aground northeast of N12 and did not complete the race.

In Division II, Sprit Spinnaker, Purple Haze finished in first place, lead by Commodore Lee Oldak and Captain Dan Kalish.  Ice-Nine (Captain Tom Stewart) took second place 59 seconds later.  In third place was Witchli (Captain Fred Stelle) 2 minutes and thirty seconds later.

Plurebelle (Captain Andrea Bourel) finished first in Division III.  Impromptu (Captain Sean Leary) took second place and Swansway (Captain Chris DiSunno) finished third, one minute six seconds and four minutes and one second behind respectively.

The September 24th race began at 5 PM with winds out of the East at 12 – 16 knots and a flooding tide.  Division I honors went to Osprey (Captain George Martin) in first place followed by White Lightning (Captain Jim Smyth) one minute and 25 seconds behind.  In third place was Kingfisher (Captain Scott Gaeckle) 2 minutes and 44 seconds later.

In Division II, Skoot (Captain Jim Vos) took first place followed by Buckaroo (Captain Bruce Tair) 2 minutes and nine seconds behind.  Ice-Nine (Captain Tom Stewart) took 3rd place, 22 seconds later.

Impromptu (Captain Sean Leary) took first place in Division III.  Bellatrix (Captains Camerino, Gaites and Frizell) finished second only 3 seconds behind.  In third place was Plurabelle (Captain Andrea Bourel) one minute and eight seconds later.

Be Sociable, Share!

This post was written by:

- who has written 3074 posts on The Sag Harbor Express.

Contact the author

Leave a Reply

Comments are the sole responsibility of the person posting them. You agree not to post comments that are off-topic, defamatory, obscene, abusive, threatening or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be banned. Terms of Service