Categorized | Sports

Dozens Receive Awards

Posted on 25 November 2011

By Andrew Rudansky

Pierson High School’s fall sports season came to a close last week, and in honor of their student-athletes Pierson presented their Fall Sports Awards Night last Thursday, November 17. Each member of the varsity squads received their varsity letters, while JV athletes were awarded certificates of participation.

In addition each of the individual coaches at both levels gave out individual accolades for “Most Valuable Player,” “Most Improved Player” and “Coach’s Award.”

For boys varsity cross country Peter Skerys received Most Valuable Player, Jeremy Pepper received Most Improved Player, while Paul Dorego was given the Coach’s Award.

For girls varsity cross country Elena Skerys received Most Valuable Player, Maya Buckner received Most Improved Player, while Anika Hochstedler and Genevieve Kotz shared the Coach’s Award.

The Lady Whalers varsity field hockey team’s Most Valuable Player award went to Kasey Gilbride, Emma Romeo received the Most Improved Player award and the Coach’s Award went to Catherine Musnicki.

The varsity golf team’s Most Valuable Player this year was Dillon Decker, the Most Improved Player was Charles Canavan and the Coach’s Award went to Harrison Bayrami.

For the Whalers boys’ varsity soccer team Sam Miller was awarded with Most Valuable Player, Giordon Zeas was awarded with Most Improved Player, and the Coach’s Award went to Sean Hartnett.

The girls’ varsity soccer head coach did not give out a Most Valuable Player award at the event, but gave both Dianna Rozzi and Angelica Uribe the Most Improved Player award, the Coach’s award was given to Julia Schiavoni and Elizabeth Grigonis.

The Lady Whalers varsity volleyball Most Valuable Player went to May Evjen, Hayley Schimmer was awarded the Most Improved Player and Rebecca Speckenbach was given the Coach’s Award.

Be Sociable, Share!

This post was written by:

- who has written 3074 posts on The Sag Harbor Express.

Contact the author

One Response to “Dozens Receive Awards”

  1. Sandi Kruel says:

    The JV awards were not listed for boys soccer so when they went to look at the paper for their names they were not there so here they are:

    The JV Boys Soccer award winners were: MVP – Nick Kruel; Coach’s Award – Aditja Nagraha; Most Improved – Addison Cook; and a “one off” award: Toughest Cookie – Refugio Mendez

    Thank you

Leave a Reply

Comments are the sole responsibility of the person posting them. You agree not to post comments that are off-topic, defamatory, obscene, abusive, threatening or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be banned. Terms of Service