Categorized | Sports

Shared Program Between Pierson and East Hampton Strong This Spring

Posted on 12 March 2014

By Gavin Menu

A large contingent of athletes from Pierson High School will make the daily trek down Route 114 for practice this spring as part of the shared athletic programs with East Hampton.

Leading the way will be Drew Harvey, a returning All-County lacrosse player, who was the Bonackers’ leading scorer last season. Harvey will be joined on the lacrosse team by fellow Pierson students Joe Gengarelly, Maxwell Grout, John Lesser, Ray Pettigrew, Jack Schleicher and Bradley and Sean Toole.

Chloe Collette-Schindler will be the lone girls lacrosse player heading to East Hampton this spring.

The boys lacrosse team finished out of the playoffs last season and has traditionally struggled to keep up in the competitive Division II ranks, which includes a host of perennial powerhouse teams. The 2014 season will begin with a non-league game against Longwood at home on Tuesday, March 18 at 4:30 p.m., with the division schedule set to begin at home against Harborfields on March 25.

The girls team has been more competitive in recent years and has a strong core of returning players that should compete for a playoff spot. The ladies will kick off the season with a non-league game at Riverhead on Wednesday, March 19 at 4 p.m., with the division schedule starting March 26 with a home game against Southampton-Ross.

Pierson will also send a good group of athletes for girls and boys track. Steven Arkinson, Ian Barrett, Evan Johnson, Gavin O’Brien, Rojuan Patterson, Robert Rewinski and Nicholas Stevens will compete for the boys, while Alaina Goggin, Christen Heine, Hannah Jungck, Allura Leggard, Rose O’Donoghue and Elena Skerys will compete with the girls.

Both track teams will begin the season against Miller Place on March 19, with the boys at home at 4 p.m. and the girls on the road at 4:30 p.m.



Be Sociable, Share!

This post was written by:

- who has written 334 posts on The Sag Harbor Express.

Contact the author

Leave a Reply

Comments are the sole responsibility of the person posting them. You agree not to post comments that are off-topic, defamatory, obscene, abusive, threatening or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be banned. Terms of Service