Categorized | Sports

Sports Wrap (6/13/13)

Posted on 17 June 2013

Hamptons Baseball Places 20 Players in Draft

Twenty former and current players from the Hamptons Collegiate Baseball League were selected in last week’s 2013 Major League Baseball  First-Year Player Draft.

The parade was led by Ole Miss catcher Stuart Turner, a member of the 2011 Southampton Breakers, who was taken in the third round by the Minnesota Twins. As the 78th overall pick, he became the highest-drafted HCBL alum in history.

Also among the selections was Pierson graduate and former Sag Harbor Whalers pitcher Kyle McGowin, who was taken in the fifth round by the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim (see story elsewhere in this issue).

Other former Whalers selected were Kevin McCarthy of Marist, who was taken in the 16th Round by the Kansas City Royals and Joel Thys of Arizona Christian, who was selected in the 31st round by Arizona Diamondbacks.

In other HCBL news, current Whaler Justin Montemayor was named to the freshman All American team this week after he was also named the Conference USA Freshman of the Year out of the University of Houston.

The Whalers will play at Mashashimuet Park this Saturday at 11 a.m. and Sunday 2 p.m.


Postseason Awards for Whalers

Seven players from the Pierson-Bridgehampton baseball team, which won Suffolk County and Long Island Class C Championships this year, were awarded with postseason honors. And the team overall was awarded with the Section XI Team Sportsmanship Award as well.

Colman Vila was the League XI Most Valuable Player and was named All-County for his efforts. Junior catcher Aaron Schiavoni and junior shortstop Forrest Loesch were also named All-County, while Nick Kruel, Jack Fitzpatrick and Tim Markowski earned All-League honors. Senior Jake Bennett made the Academic All-League team, and Jon Tortorella and Henry Meyer were named League IX Coaches of the Year for the varsity and junior varsity levels, respectively.

The school’s softball team, which, like baseball, also advanced to the New York State Final Four, was led by the League VIII Pitcher of the Year Samantha Duchemin and the Player of the Year, Kasey Gilbride, who was the team’s lone representative on the All-County team. Catcher Emma Romeo was recognized with All-League honors and the team as a whole won a New York State Scholar Athlete Team Award. Melissa Edwards was the League VIII Coach of the Year.

Pierson junior Drew Harvey, who was the leading scorer for the East Hampton lacrosse team, made All-County and Rose Donoghue was All-League in track.


Breakwater Yacht Club

Steve Kenny and Greg Ames were back atop the standings with a first-place finish aboard Gossip in the Breakwater Yacht Club’s Wednesday nigh sailing series. Gossip finished with a corrected time of 1 hour, 15 minutes and 29 seconds. Wayne and Carol Morse finished in second place aboard Roxanne with an adjusted time of 1:19:16 and Lee Oldak finished third aboard Purple Haze with a corrected time of 1:21:23.


Be Sociable, Share!

This post was written by:

- who has written 3072 posts on The Sag Harbor Express.

Contact the author

Leave a Reply

Comments are the sole responsibility of the person posting them. You agree not to post comments that are off-topic, defamatory, obscene, abusive, threatening or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be banned. Terms of Service