Categorized | Sports

Tags :

Team Tonic Takes Maycroft Cup

Posted on 30 September 2010

web Maycroft Cup_5912

Sag Harbor Yacht Club’s annual regatta, the Maycroft Cup was raced this past Saturday, September 25th, in and around Shelter Island Sound and Gardiners Bay. Twenty-three sailboats competing in six divisions came to the starting line in the yacht club’s 14th annual regatta.

Starting against the Shelter Island shore with winds blowing 8 to 15 knots from the Southwest, all classes sailed around marks set in Shelter Island Sound, then raced past Cedar Point into Gardiner’s Bay.  Divisions 1, 2, 5 & 6 sailed to Crow Shoals while Divisions 3 & 4 headed to Three Mile Harbor.  Against an ebbing tide, all divisions then returned past Cedar Point Light back into Shelter Island Sound through the South channel, finishing at the Sag Harbor Breakwater.

Jim and Ellen Sanders aboard “Team Tonic” took First place in Division 1 while winning the Maycroft Cup trophy for top boat in Spinnaker Divisions 1 & 2.  Sag Harbor Yacht Club member George Martin at the helm of his C&C 35 “Osprey” got the gun taking First in Division 2.  “Impromptu” owned by Sean & Lynn Leary of Sag Harbor took First place in Division 3, also taking home the Havens Cup perpetual trophy for best in Non-Spinnaker Divisions 3 & 4.  Kevin Horne driving “Calli” won Division 4 with SHYC members Joe Gaites & Joe Frizell coming in second aboard “Bellatrix”.  Wayne Morse, also a Sag Harbor YC member took line honors in One Design Division 5 on his J105 “Roxanne”.  Steve Kenny & Greg Ames racing their J109 “Gossip” got the gun in One Design Division 6 with SHYC member David Betts sailing “Instant Karma” to a close second.  Kenny & Ames were awarded the Ron Lowe Cup for overall winner of the One Design divisions.

Top finishers in each class were:

Division 1 (Spinnaker) –
First –               “Team Tonic” – Jim & Ellen Sanders

Second – “Purple Haze” – Lee Oldak & Dan Kalish

Third –               “One Ring Circus” – Paul Pomerantz

Division 2 (Spinnaker) –                         First –               “Osprey” – George Martin

Second –  “Swans Way” –  Chris DiSunno

Third –             “Boogie Van” – Jody LoCasio

Division 3 (Non-Spinnaker) –             First –     “Impromptu” – Sean & Lynn Leary

Second – “Wave Equation” –  Bruce Dinsmore & Joan Worthing

Third –    “Between The Sheets” – Jeff Barnett

Division 4 (Non-Spinnaker) –             First –               “Calli” – Kevin Horne

Second –  “Bellatrix” – Joe Gaites & Joe Frizell

Third –     “Fresh Start” – Arthur Spanarkel

Division 5 (One Design J105) –             First –                “Roxanne” – Wayne Morse

Second –   “Buckaroo” – Bruce Tait

Third –      “Mambo” – Sedgwick Ward

Division 6 (One Design J109) -            First –                 “Gossip” – Steve Kenny & Greg Ames

Second –   “Instant Karma” – David Betts

Third –      “Big Boat”- Bud Rogers

Overall perpetual trophy winners:

Maycroft Cup (Best finish in Spinnaker Divisions 1 & 2): “Team Tonic” – Jim & Ellen Sanders

Havens Cup (Best finish in Non-Spinnaker Divisions 3 & 4): “Impromptu” –  Sean & Lynn Leary

Ron Lowe Cup (Best finish in One Design Divisions 5 & 6): “Gossip” – Steve Kenny & Greg Ames

Be Sociable, Share!

This post was written by:

- who has written 3074 posts on The Sag Harbor Express.

Contact the author

One Response to “Team Tonic Takes Maycroft Cup”

  1. Lisa Kiner says:

    How did the Maycroft Cup get its name?

Leave a Reply

Comments are the sole responsibility of the person posting them. You agree not to post comments that are off-topic, defamatory, obscene, abusive, threatening or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be banned. Terms of Service