Categorized | Sports

“Tonic” Takes Maycroft Cup

Posted on 28 September 2012

by Raun Norquist


On Saturday, September 22, the Sag Harbor Yacht Club held it’s 16th annual Maycroft Cup Regatta. Entry was open to sailboats with a PHRF rating and J 105 One-Design sailboats.

The first start was at 12:35 PM with a Southeasterly breeze of less than 6 knots and a flooding tide. During the race the wind veered Southerly, building to 10-15 knots.

The course began with a windward/leeward leg in Shelter Island Sound off of Sag Harbor. Then the boats raced past Cedar Point Lighthouse into Gardiner’s Bay. All divisions sailed to the MoA buoy off of Rams Head, Shelter Island and then back through the South Channel of Shelter Island Sound, finishing at the Sag Harbor breakwater.

The first boat over the finish line getting “the gun” in Division I Spinnaker was “Waterwitch” with an elapsed time of 2 hr.s 39 min.s 58 sec.s.  In hotly contested Division II Spinnaker, Jody LoCascio sailing “Boogie Van” just beat out George Martin, skippering “Osprey”, by a mere 29 seconds, after racing for over 3 hours.




Division I Spinnaker

1st Team Tonic – Ellen & Jim Sanders

2nd Purple Haze – Lee Oldak

3rd Waterwitch – Jay Cross


Division II Spinnaker

1st Boogie Van – Jody LoCascio

2nd Osprey – George Martin

3rd Lunatic Fringe – Rob & Bill Lehnert


Division III Non-Spinnaker

1st Wave Equation – Bruce Dinsmore & Joan Worthing

2nd Impulse – Andrew Baris

3rd – Gracious – Daniel Montero


Division IV  Non–Spinnaker

1st Bellatrix – Joe Gaites


Division V  One Design

1st Buckaroo – Bruce Tait

2nd Licorice – John Sommi

3rd Moana – Eric Demarchelier


Overall winners:


Maycroft Cup for Divisions I & II won by Team Tonic – Ellen & Jim Sanders


Havens Cup for Divisions III & IV won by Wave Equation – Bruce Dinsmore & Joan Worthing


Ron Lowe Cup for Division V won by Buckaroo – Bruce Tait

Be Sociable, Share!

This post was written by:

- who has written 3069 posts on The Sag Harbor Express.

Contact the author

Leave a Reply

Comments are the sole responsibility of the person posting them. You agree not to post comments that are off-topic, defamatory, obscene, abusive, threatening or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be banned. Terms of Service